A Vulnerability in Apache Log4j Library Affecting Cisco Products: December 2021

On December 9, 2021, the following vulnerability in the Apache Log4j Java logging library affecting all Log4j2 versions prior to 2.15.0 was disclosed:

CVE-2021-44228: Apache Log4j2 JNDI features do not protect against attacker controlled LDAP and other JNDI related endpoints

For a description of these vulnerabilities, see the Fixed in Log4j 2.15.0 section and the of the Apache Log4j Security Vulnerabilities page.  

To help detect exploitation of this vulnerability, Cisco has released Snort rules at the following location: Talos Rules 2021-12-13

This advisory will be updated daily around the following times: 1500 UTC/10:00 AM ET, 1900 UTC/2:00 PM ET, 2300 UTC/6:00 PM ET.

This advisory is available at the following link:
https://tools.cisco.com/security/center/content/CiscoSecurityAdvisory/cisco-sa-apache-log4j-qRuKNEbd

Security Impact Rating: Critical

CVE: CVE-2021-44228

Source:: Cisco Security Advisories